Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)

What is DACA?

DACA is short for Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals. Certain people who were brought to the United States as children and meet several guidelines may request consideration of deferred action. This is not a path to citizenship. However, it can offer:

  • Limited protection from deportation
  • Eligibility for a work permit
  • Permission to travel abroad (if approved by immigration)

DACA was originally instituted in June 2012 and allowed people to apply for protection for a period of two years, subject to renewal. Here are the program's original requirements:

  • Must have entered the United States before the 16th birthday
  • Must have been living continuously in the United States since June 15, 2007
  • Must have been continuously present in the United States since June 15, 2012
  • Must be at least 15 years old  (unless you are currently in removal proceedings or have a final removal or voluntary departure order) at the time of application and less than 31 years old on June 15, 2012
  • Had no lawful status on June 15, 2012
  • Must be in school or graduated high school or have obtained a GED or be honorably discharged from the armed forces
  • Must not be convicted of a felony or significant misdemeanor or have more than three regular misdemeanors

 Please see our service hours.